This page needs JavaScript activated to work.

Ning Feng


  • Established at the highest level in China, Ning Feng performs regularly in his native country with major international and local orchestras, in recital and with the Dragon Quartet which he founded in 2012. Now based in Berlin and enjoying a global career, Ning Feng has developed a reputation internationally as an artist of great lyricism and emotional transparency, displaying tremendous bravura and awe-inspiring technical accomplishment.

Read more
  • Recent successes for Ning Feng have included a return to Budapest Festival Orchestra with Iván Fischer in Budapest and on tour to China performing Dutilleux L'arbre des songes, and on tour with Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra and van Zweden which included performances in Singapore, Seoul, Osaka, Sydney and Melbourne, following his critically-acclaimed European tour with the orchestra in 2015, as well as successful debuts with Los Angeles Philharmonic, Frankfurt Radio Symphony and Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. In recital and chamber music he performs regularly with Igor Levit, amongst others, in many of the major festivals in Germany and elsewhere, including Kissinger Sommer, Heidelberg, Moritzburg, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schubertiade and La Jolla Music Society (California).

    Highlights of Ning’s 2017/18 season include debuts with City of Birmingham Symphony with Gražinytė-Tyla playing Bruch Scottish Fantasy and Brahms Violin Concerto, with Royal Scottish National Orchestra performing Korngold, with BBC Scottish Symphony performing Bernstein’s Serenade with John Wilson and with New Jersey Symphony/Slobodeniouk. Ning also returns to Bilbao Symphony Orchestra with Giancarlo Guerrero, China Philharmonic with Isaac Stern, and Guangzhou Symphony and Hong Kong Philharmonic, both under the baton of Yu Long. Chamber music highlights include returns to Wigmore Hall and Schubertiade to perform the Schubert Piano Trios with Igor Levit and Daniel Müller-Schott, and two all-Schubert programmes with Nicholas Angelich and Edgar Moreau in Lucerne, as well as his debut at Moritzburg Festival and a performance at Premiere Performances Hong Kong’s 10th anniversary gala concert.

    Ning Feng records for Channel Classics in the Netherlands and his latest disc, Apasionado, with Orchestra Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias and Rossen Milanov, features works by Sarasate, Lalo, Ravel and Bizet/Waxman and was released in March 2016. Two further discs are due for release in the 2017/18 season: Bach’s complete solo works for violin, and the Elgar and Finzi Violin Concertos with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic conducted by Carlos Miguel Prieto.

    Born in Chengdu, China, Ning Feng studied at the Sichuan Conservatory of Music, the Hanns Eisler School of Music (Berlin) with Antje Weithaas and the Royal Academy of Music (London) with Hu Kun, where he was the first student ever to be awarded 100% for his final recital. The recipient of prizes at the Hanover International, Queen Elisabeth and Yehudi Menuhin International violin competitions, Ning Feng was First Prize winner of the 2005 Michael Hill International Violin Competition (New Zealand), and in 2006 won first prize in the International Paganini Competition.

    Ning Feng plays a 1721 Stradivari violin, known as the ‘MacMillan’, on private loan, kindly arranged by Premiere Performances of Hong Kong, and plays on strings by Thomastik-Infeld, Vienna.

    2017/18 season / 494 words. Not to be altered without permission.


View more
Loading performances...


Giordano Bellincampi
Joanna Carneiro
Andreas Delfs
Iván Fischer
Lawrence Foster
James Gaffigan
Mirga Grazinyta-Tyla
Miguel Harth-Bedoya
Vladimir Jurowski
Lan Shui
Marko Letonja
Lü Jia
Yu Long
Rossen Milanov
Roberto Minczuk
Vasily Petrenko
Carlos Miguel Prieto
Alexander Shelley
Leonard Slatkin
Vladimir Spivakov
Joshua Weilerstein
Muhai Tang
Kazuki Yamada
Xian Zhang
Van Zweden

Sample recital programmes

Mozart: Violin Sonata No.27 in G major, K.379
Shostakovich: Violin Sonata, Op.134
Franck: Violin Sonata in A major


Beethoven: Violin Sonata No.9 in A major, Op.47 'Kreutzer'
Schnittke: Sonata No.1 for Violin and Piano
Brahms: Violin Sonata No.3 in D minor, Op.108


Mozart: Violin Sonata No.18 in G major, K.301
Beethoven: Violin Sonata No.8 in G major, Op.30, No.3
Schubert: Violin Sonata in D major, D.384, No.1
Beethoven: Violin Sonata No.1 in D major, Op.12, No.1


Mozart: Violin Sonata No.18 in G major, K.301
Saint-Saëns: Violin Sonata No.1 in D minor, Op.75
Pärt: Fratres
Korngold: Much Ado About Nothing, Op.11 (Viel Lärmen um Nichts): Suite
Glazunov: Meditation in D major, Op.32
Paganini: Di Tanti Palpiti

Concerto repertoire

Bach, J.S.
Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV.1041
Violin Concerto in E major, BWV.1042
Concerto for Two Violins, Strings & Continuo in D minor, BWV.1043

Violin Concerto, Op.14

Violin Concerto No.2, BB.117

Violin Concerto in D major, Op.61
Concerto for Violin, Cello & Piano in C major, Op.56

Violin Concerto 

Serenade (After Plato's 'Symposium') 

Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77
Double Concerto in A minor, Op.102

Violin Concerto, Op.15

Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26
Violin Concerto No.2 in D minor, Op.44
Scottish Fantasy in E-flat major, Op.46

L'arbre des songes 

Violin Concerto in B minor 

Violin Concerto in A minor, Op.53

Violin Concerto in B minor, Op.61

Violin Concerto in A minor, Op.82

Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.28

Hartman, K.A.
Concerto funèbre 

Violin Concerto in C major, Op.48

Violin Concerto in D minor

Violin Concerto

Symphonie espagnole in D minor, Op.21

Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
Concerto for Violin, Piano and Orchestra

Violin Concerto No.3 in G major, K.216
Violin Concerto No.4 in D major, K.218
Violin Concerto No.5 in A major, K.219
Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola & Orchestra in E-flat major, K.364

Concerto for Violin & Orchestra, Op.33

Violin Concerto No.1 in E-flat major, Op.6
Violin Concerto No.4 in D minor

The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

Violin Concerto No.1 in D major, Op.19
Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor, Op.63

Violin Concerto No.3 in B minor, Op.61

Violin Concerto in D minor, WoO.23

Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.77

Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47

Strauss, R.
Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.8

Violin Concerto in D major

Violin Concerto in D major, Op.35

Violin Concerto No.5 in A minor, Op.37

The Four Seasons

Violin Concerto

Violin Concerto No.2 in D minor, Op.22

Ning Feng surprised with a direct, highly virtuosic approach, and after two dazzlingly masterful encores, he was justifiably celebrated.

Berliner Morgenpost

Ning’s cool, slippery sound soared like a bird, the triplets beautifully shaped, the double-stopping in the Kreisler cadenzas pure and true, his vibrato lightly applied, just another colour in the palette.


Ning Feng displayed a gorgeous light touch with faultless intonation and deft bowing married to a sweet tone. The melodic lines were all smooth and beautifully shaped.

Daily Telegraph

Intermusica represents Ning Feng worldwide

Leyla Güneş
Associate Director
+44 20 7608 9927

Nicola Friemel
Artist Manager (Germany)
+44 20 7608 9941

Hannah Rawson
Associate Artist Manager
+44 20 7608 9928

Francesca McGeorge
Assistant Artist Manager
+44 20 7608 9943

If you have any queries, please fill in the form below, and we will be in touch soon

All artists

Special projects

Charles Hazlewood


Mark Simpson


HK Gruber


Tim Mead

Rupert Enticknap

Piano accompanist

Roger Vignoles