This page needs JavaScript activated to work.



Intermusica artists win six awards at inaugural Opus Klassik awards

03 September 2018

Related profiles:
Marin Alsop
Sergei Babayan
Boris Giltburg
George Li
Carlos Miguel Prieto

External Links:
Opus Klassik

We are delighted to announce that five Intermusica artists, along with imagine ensemble Philharmonix, have been recognised at the inaugural Opus Klassik awards, the major new prize for recorded classical music in Germany.

Daniil Trifonov is awarded ‘Instrumentalist of the Year (piano)’ for his Deutsche Grammophon recording of Chopin Evocation with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Mikhail Pletnev and fellow Intermusica artist Sergei Babayan. Babayan himself is the recipient of the 'Chamber Music Recording of the Year (20th/21st century)' for his Deutsche Grammophon disc Prokofiev for Two, with Martha Argerich.

Virtuoso ensemble Philharmonix, who joined Intermusica's imagine portfolio earlier this year, won the ‘Classical Without Borders’ category for their Deutsche Grammophon release The Vienna Berlin Music Club Vol. 1.

Marin Alsop receives the ‘Symphonic Recording of the Year (20th/21st century)’ award for her Naxos recording of Bernstein Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Alsop, Bernstein's protégé and long-time champion, has been pivotal to the 2018 global Bernstein centenary celebrations, most recently leading high-profile performances with the Baltimore Symphony at the Edinburgh International Festival and BBC Proms, on the weekend of the composer's 100th birthday.

Elsewhere, Intermusica pianists George Li and Boris Giltburg triumphed: Li was awarded ‘Soloist Recording of the Year (19th century, piano)’ for his debut recording on Warner Classics, Live at the Mariinsky, while Giltburg took home ‘Soloist Recording of the Year (20th/21st century, piano)’ for his recording of Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2 & Études-tableaux Op.33 with the RSNO conducted by Intermusica's Carlos Miguel Prieto (Naxos).

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in the Konzerthaus Berlin on Sunday 14 October, and broadcast on ZDF at 10.15pm local time.

Read More

All artists


Mark Simpson


HK Gruber


Tim Mead

Piano accompanist

Roger Vignoles